Bret Higgins’ Atlas Revolt – Illusion Machine

Bret Higgins’ Atlas Revolt – Illusion Machine

Apple Music
Google Play

Picking up from where the band left off with their 2015 debut CD on Tzadik Records, Bret Higgins’ Atlas Revolt digs deeper, refining a collaborative sound which draws upon film score, desert-blues, psychedelia, Balkan, and Central and South American music. On their sophomore recording Illusion Machine, the usual line-up adds sixth man of the year, virtuoso Columbian percussionist Juan Carlos Medrano to the fold, elevating the overall sound into a darker and more orchestral version of itself. The music on Illusion Machine is overflowing with exciting rhythms, searing guitar work and beautiful melodies, performed by an incredible group.

Bret Higgins – Double Bass
Aleksandar Gajic – Violin
Robbie Grunwald – Electric Piano and Organ
Tom Juhas – Electric Guitar
Juan Carlos Medrano – Percussion
Joshua Van Tassel – Drums

Recorded and Edited by Jeremy Darby at Canterbury Music Company, Toronto
Additional Editing by David Hermiston at Woodbine Studio, Toronto
Mixed by Justin Phelps at Hallowed Halls, Portland, Oregon
Mastered by David Travers-Smith
Artwork and Design by Asli Alin –
Produced by Bret Higgins
All music composed by Bret Higgins


  1. Shadowboxing
  2. Hunter
  3. Last Man Standing
  4. Euculipsa
  5. Astral Soul Shake
  6. Sun Gazers
  7. Stero
  8. Illusion Machine
  9. Zebop
  10. Moon Catchers