Randi Pontoppidan – ROOMS

Randi Pontoppidan – ROOMS

Apple Music
Google Play

Artist links:

Randi Pontoppidan’s new album ‘Rooms’ is constructed using only her voice, filtered through various electronic effects and machines. The Danish vocalist, composer and improviser uses this unique and intimate palette to create vast sonic landscapes full of organic warmth and poetic sensibility. Pontoppidan is an internationally acclaimed artist, having worked with jazz luminaries including Greg Cohen, Jamaaladeen Tacuma and Sissel Vera Pettersen and with Danish poet Morten Søndergaard. She’s also an in-demand vocalist in the contemporary classical world, working with Paul Hillier’s Theatre of Voices and performing works by Steve Reich, David Lang, Karlheinz Stockhausen, John Cage and others. On ‘Rooms,’ a follow-up to her previous Chant Records album ‘Space Geode’ with Greg Cohen, Pontoppidan explores the outer limits and deepest secrets of the human voice while drawing on inspirations including free jazz, electroacoustic composition and sound poetry.

Produced by Randi Pontoppidan
Recorded May 2017 in studio 2, The Royal Danish Academy of Music
Mix & Recording by Weronika Wierzba
Master by Morten Bue
Photos and cover art by Sigrún Gudbrandsdóttir


  1. Hush of Expectation
  2. Dunh
  3. Purr
  4. Sub-Zero
  5. Industrious – Moving Castle
  6. Arctic
  7. Dis Appearence
  8. Gigongi – Three Geishas
  9. Troll
  10. Dreamy
  11. Mauritzu
  12. Mari Si
  13. Tidal

Catalog Number CR1901TO

Related: Event Horizon (Greg Cohen and Randi Pontoppidan) – Space Geode »